What are the three types of breast cancer surgery?

There are several types of breast cancer surgery, but the three most common types are:

  1. Lumpectomy: also known as breast-conserving surgery or partial mastectomy, this procedure involves removing the tumor and a small margin of surrounding healthy tissue. The remaining breast tissue is not removed.

  2. Mastectomy: This procedure involves removing the entire breast that has cancer. Depending on the case, some lymph nodes under the arm may also be removed.

  3. Sentinel Lymph Node Biopsy: This is a specialized type of breast cancer surgery in which the surgeon identifies and removes the sentinel lymph node(s) to check whether cancer has spread to the lymphatic system. This procedure is done before or during a lumpectomy or a mastectomy.

The type of surgery that is recommended for a patient with breast cancer will depend on various factors such as the size and location of the tumor, the patient's overall health, and medical history, as well as their preferences. Some other factors that play a role include whether the tumor is hormone receptor-positive or HER2-positive, the stage of cancer, and whether the patient plans to have radiation therapy or not.

Related Questions

  • Question >
  • What are the three types of breast cancer surgery?

The Power To Health

Copyright © 2023 Drlogy. All rights reserved.